Upload Data

4 Ashrams of Life

Brahmacharya (life as a student), Gṛhastha (householder), Vanaprastha (explorer of the innate meaning of life), Sannyasa (final retirement from the circle of life)

It’s a life cycle

The concept of ashrams is the one that dates back to the start of 'dharma' in Hinduism. Popularly covered by religious texts 'vedas', it talks about a cycle of life summed up to 4 stages. Guruji's philosophy revolves around these four ashramas. He believes that although we are part of a different generation, by following this concept people can be happier and live a more healthy and prosperous life by freeing themselves from the 'illness and negativity' in the society.

Brahmacharya Ashram

This first stage of life is called the Brahmacharya, (celibacy) or discipleship. Brahmacharya Ashram is the early period of life when the young boy is initiated in the study of the Vedas. The religious master (guru) takes him as full-time disciple and personally imparts the sacred knowledge of Vedanta to him. The Brahmachari (celibate) observes the vow of celibacy and takes in the knowledge in a spirit of surrender and worship.

Grihastha Ashram

This is the second stage of his life, in which he is called the Grihastha, or householder. The disciple, until he is twenty-five or thirty comes back home to marry and enters grihastha i.e. household settle as a householder . He performs his household duties, not for himself, but for others. He goes to the daily business of his life, but he knows that his business and every function of his life are for the glorification of God.

Vanaprastha Ashram

Vanaprastha is a life of giving. In this ashram, a person gradually withdraws himself from his family matters to discharge his debt towards sages of yore (ancient times). He(disciple) also takes the sacred vow(pledge) to utilise all his accumulated wisdom experience in the cause of the society. For a person who has either retired or is going to retire in the near future, Vanaprastha ashram will have a salutary effect on his physical and mental well-being.

Sanyaas Ashram

In this stage he(disciple) renounces the world, but enters into an order of diviner service. He lives no longer specially for his own family and home. He exists for the larger group of race and mankind. He is beyond caste, past all limitations. He begins to realize himself as part and parcel of Humanity. The world is his 'Kutumb' (kin).